The uYilo eMobility Technology Innovation Programme was launched on 13th March 2013 as an initiative of the Technology Innovation Agency (Act 26 of 2008) to serve as a national multi-stakeholder collaborative programme focused on enabling, facilitating and mobilising the electric mobility (eMobility) industry in South Africa. uYilo aims to create the enabling environment for the technology introduction into South Africa and maximise the value in niche technologies that South Africa has capacity and capability to develop or add value to adapt to local conditions.

Enabling to technology innovation, the facilities and testing services extends across supporting materials characterization and battery testing across all applications to which the battery testing is accredited to the South African National Accreditation System (SANAS) under ISO 17025 compliance. Hosted by Nelson Mandela University, the programme seeks to mobilise South Africa for eMobility by creating new business opportunities and generating the know-how to support the sector.

The name uYilo is derived from the local Xhosa language which means

"to create”